With the increase in usage of Microsoft 365 groups and Microsoft Teams, administrators and users need a way to clean up unused groups and Teams more effectively. A Microsoft 365 groups expiration policy can help remove inactive groups from the system and make things cleaner.
When a group expires, all of its associated services (the mailbox, Planner, SharePoint site, team, etc.) are also deleted.
When a group expires it is “soft-deleted” which means it can still be recovered for up to 30 days.
Modifying the Groups | Expiration
By default, a group has 180 day lifetime and renewal notifications are set to the group owners, 30, 15 and 1 day prior to expiration. Providing 3 chances before the group is removed.
If there are any groups with no owners specified you can configure an email address which will receive the notification renewal alerts.
Now for the most important element, you can configure expiration for all groups, a selection number or not have the setting enabled at all.
Groups that are actively in use are renewed automatically. Any of the following actions will trigger an auto-renew a group:
- SharePoint – view, edit, download, move, share, or upload files. (Viewing a SharePoint page does not count as an action for automatic renewal.)
- Outlook – join group, read or write group message from the group, and like a message (Outlook on the web).
- Microsoft Teams – visiting a Teams channel.
- Important: The only Yammer activity that will trigger an automatic group renewal is the upload of a document to SharePoint within the community.
When you change the expiration policy, the service recalculates the expiration date for each group. It always starts counting from the date when the group was created, and then applies the new expiration policy.
It’s important to know that expiration is turned off by default. Administrators have to enable it for their organization if they want to use it.
The Author – Blogabout.Cloud